We are currently organising a conference – Smart Nanomaterials: Advances, Innovation and Applications (SNAIA) 2018 Conference .

The programme committee are now accepting abstracts for both oral and poster presentations. The abstract submission deadline is 15 September 2018.

The conference’s focus is to discuss the most critical technological advances, innovations and new practical applications in Smart Technologies. The conference will take place in the École Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris, Paris Tech from 10th to 13th of December 2018. More information on SNAIA 2018 can be found at www.snaia2018.com

More than 200 attendees will meet at this Conference and exhibition. The SNAIA 2018 will provide a unique platform to meet, share knowledge and establish links between experts from academia and industry in the emerging fields of Wearable and Printed (Opto)Electronics, CMOS Photonics, Quantum Computing, Artificial Intelligence, OptoGenetics, Smart Coatings and Thin Films.


The conference programme will include:

  • 2D Material Symposium (in partnership with Exeter’s Centre for Graphene Science)
    Chair: Prof Monica Craciun (University of Exeter)
  • Liquid Crystal Symposium (in partnership with the British Liquid Crystal and International Liquid Crystal Societies)
    Chair: Prof Ingo Dierking (University of Manchester)
  • Optoelectronics and Photonics Symposium (organised by the Univ. of Exeter SPIE Student Chapter)
    Chair: Joaquín Faneca Ruedas (President of Univ. of Exeter SPIE Student Chapter)
  • Si Photonics Symposium
    Chair: Prof Frederic Gardes (University of Southampton)
  • Microscopy and Microspectroscopy of Nanomaterials Symposium (in partnership with the Royal Microscopical Society (RMS) and the European Microscopy Society (EMS))
    Chair: Dr Anna Baldycheva (University of Exeter)
  • Smart Biosensors and Bioanalytical Systems Symposium
    Chair: Prof Andrey Somov (Skoltech University)


We have an exciting list of Keynote and Invited Speakers lined up for this event:

Prof. Andrea C. Ferrari – Cambridge Graphene Centre

Prof. Shanhui Fan – Stanford University

Prof. Pavlos Lagoudakis – University of Southampton & Skoltech University

Prof. David Andrews – University of East Anglia

Prof. Laura Lechuga – Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Prof. Rudolf Bratschitsch – University of Münster

Prof. Anatoly Zayats – Kings College London

Prof. Lorenzo Pavesi – University of Trento

Prof. Aldo Di Carlo – University of Rome

Prof. Frank A. Nüesch – École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Prof. Frederic Gardes – University of Southampton

Prof. László Forró – École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Prof. Jérôme Tignon – École Normale Supérieure & UPMC

Prof. Igor Bondarev – North Carolina Central University

Prof. Ingo Dierking – University of Manchester

Prof. Alberto G. Curto – Eindhoven University of Technology

Prof. Alberto Bramati – Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Prof. Ventsislav Valev – University of Bath

Prof. Mikhail Portnoi – University of Exeter

Prof. Coskun Kocabas – University of Manchester

Prof. Monica Craciun – University of Exeter

Prof. Igor Lukyanchuk – University of Amiens

Prof. Oleg Yazev – École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Prof. Alberto G. Curto – Eindhoven University of Technology

Prof. Zhe Li – Cardiff University

Prof. Pavlos Savvidis – University of Heraklion

Prof. Cinzia Casiraghi – University of Manchester

Prof. Andrey Somov – Skoltech University

Prof. Daniel Wolverson – University of Bath

Prof. Sergey Tarasenko – Ioffe Institute St. Petersburg

Prof. Vladimir Antonov – Royal Holloway University

Dr. Stanislav Leesment – NT-MDT

Prof. Shun-Jen Cheng – National Physical Laboratory

Prof. Slaven Garaj – National University of Trento

Dr. Cesar Moreno – Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Dr. Giacomo Scalari – ETH Zürich

Prof. Jochen  Feldmann – Ludwig Maximilian University of München

Prof. Brian Gerardot – Heriot-Watt University

Prof. Jake Fontana – U.S. Naval Research Laboratory

Dr. Dave Carbery – University of Bath

Prof. Nicolae Panoiu – University College London

Prof. Concita Sibilia – La Sapienza University of Rome

Dr. Pavel Ginzburg – Tel Aviv University

Prof. Hiromi Okamoto – Institute for Molecular Science

Prof. Liwu Zhang – Fudan University

Prof. Louise Bradley – Trinity College Dublin


The conference will also produce two publications:

  1. A Book of Abstracts (printed version available on the first day of the SNAIA2018).
  2. A special thematic volume on Smart Nanomaterials of the peer-reviewed open-access journal Nanoscale Research Letters. Articles will be added as soon as they are peer-reviewed after the conference.